Tags

, , , , , , ,

Haven’t posted a book review in a while. This is the last for this series, too. Promise.

 

 

 

Selection:

The Killing Dance

By Laurell K. Hamilton

 

Synopsis:

 

Anita Blake is an “animator,” which is a fancy term for someone who can raise the dead. Literally. Blake works for Animators Inc., raising zombies so that they can talk to the living and work out the details of a murder, or dictate a will. But Anita isn’t spending too much time at work just now.

In The Killing Dance, Blake is just coming home from a date when a strange man shoots through her door at her. Blake turns out to be quicker, and the next thing she knows, she has a dead body in her apartment. Edward, her bounty hunting friend, calls and tells Blake that she’ll probably be attacked again soon—he turned down the offer to assassinate her, but someone out there is willing to pay a LOT of money to see Anita dead.

 

Now Edward is working with Richard and Jean-Claude to protect Anita until they can discover who’s paying for the assassins. In the mean time, Jean-Claude has a fellow master vampire visiting who desperately needs to know if Blake can save him from steadily rotting away, and Richard is prepping for another deadly fight with the alpha of his werewolf pack…

 

 

Reeser’s Opinion:

 

Meh. I wasn’t that into this book, but I felt like Hamilton had enough of the loose ends tied up by the end that I didn’t need to read further in the series.

 

It seems like most of Hamilton’s books happen in a really short time frame, but I think this is maybe the quickest…like, the book spans maybe 3 days, tops. I liked it because since I wasn’t that keen on the plot, at least it didn’t drag on through needless additional days, you know?

 

On the other hand, I was kind of interested in a few of the other points that aren’t super big for the plot, but were interesting inventions for Hamilton’s monster-filled universe…like…I think this is one of the books where she finally gets into what it means for Blake to find out that she’s not just an animator, but a necromancer as well. Blake spends a little more time exploring her powers over the various kinds of dead…

There is also a sub-plot where a friend of one of Blake’s friends is having a baby, and Hamilton invented some birth defects that are wont to pop up when your daddy is a vampire…a weird kind of detail to add, but at least it’s not something goofy like Twilight, where if your daddy is a vampire, then you’re apparently doomed to be named after the Loch-Ness Monster.

 

Probably the primary thing I didn’t like about The Killing Dance was the super-annoying erotica undertones. That was the other reason I stopped reading the series, because in the other books it was just some sensuality here and there, and it didn’t really have much to do with the plot, so it was easily ignorable…in this one, it seemed unfortunately like sex was becoming a primary part of the plot. Even the Wikipedia page about the series notes that everything after this book takes on a LOT more of the erotica-type themes, and I don’t really need that in my books, kthx.

 

Overall, I wasn’t too impressed with this one. I just have it because it was the last one included in the book my professor gave me. As interesting as it was to follow Blake’s adventures for a while, I feel like when my lead female characters start turning into sluts, it’s time to break up with them and move on to something else.

 

 

 

End

 

Reeser

