Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Braaaaaaains!

 

I has them.

 

 

 

Selection:

Night of The Living Trekkies

By Kevin Anderson & Sam Stall

 

Synopsis:

 

Along with the rest of the hotel staff, Jim Pike is gearing up for the annual GulfCon. So far, he’s had to take away a phaser from an unruly kid, ensure that someone went out to pick up gummy worms to make gugh for the Klingon feast, and listen to some bizarre pop covers by various Star Trek cast members. Jim figures he can deal with a few crazy trekkies for the weekend. As long as no one shoves too much responsibility on him. Ever since he messed up in Afghanistan, the last thing he wants is to be responsible for anything.

 

But as the evening wears on, Jim notices the hotel seems to be emptying. Guests and staff members go out, and they don’t come back. And the people he sees on the streets have an oddly hungry look in their eyes…

 

 

Reeser’s Opinion:

 

So, my hundredth review. Pretty cool, huh?

This one was a fun book, sent my way by Jester’s mom.

 

I have only the most basic knowledge of Star Trek (my apologies to anyone who is offended by this), but I do enjoy my zombies and despite only having ever seen three zombie films, I do appreciate the predictably exciting way that those stories tend to play out.

 

I also liked the way that the authors took the idea that you can survive a zombie apocalypse if you’ve read enough zombie lit or watched enough films, and worked that into the survivors’ dialogue. I feel like the characters are kind of one-dimensional in a lot of ways, but the fact that the characters acknowledge their one-dimensional-ness and talk about how it affects their individual chances of surviving to the end of the disaster kind of makes it better.

 

In a way, it’s kind of sad because I feel like real people would tend to talk about this if they were in such a situation, which I’ve had proved to me when we were bored at work one day and stood around talking about how we could fortify the theatre against zombies, and what survival skills we each had…  😛

 

But yeah, I can’t really make an assessment of much of the Star Trek aspects of the story, but the zombie aspects were good. I don’t really buy the explanation for the zombies in this case, but I confess it’s no worse than any others that I’ve heard so far (wait until I get into my Steven King books…). The opening scenes were really interesting. I liked that. Didn’t like how they kill the last zombie towards the end…the authors (unfortunately) didn’t take into account some of the plot points they’d just made, so I couldn’t really buy that scene…

 

Also…I hated the end. I mean, I don’t want to give it away in case you ever feel like reading this book, but…ugh. There was another convention of science fiction that the characters discussed in multiple scenes and mentioned that they either love it or hate it…and then there it is at the end. And apparently, I’m in the camp that hates it.

 

Also, there is a little bit of swearing in this book, and some scantily-clad sci-fi women, and blood and brains and intestines and gore of assorted colours.

But if you can handle those things, then at least the discovering-of-the-zombie-apocalypse, the running-away-from-zombies-and-meeting-up-with-other-survivors, and the escaping-the-infested-city parts of the book were all good. I recommend this book if you enjoy zombies or (I guess) Star Trek, or if you liked playing tag and hide-and-seek as a kid.

 

I mean…we must know by now that the reason we encourage children to play those games is to increase their chances of escaping serial killers and zombies.

 

 

 

 

End

 

Reeser

