Tags

, , ,

Been a minute since I’ve posted a review.

And I am 1000% sure the next few that I do post won’t be of much interest to anyone…but I feel that creeping, obsessive tendency that tells me I must post them anyway, now that I’ve finally finished this series of books.

And if you are somehow interested in reading my posts about the first half of this series, you can find them at the following links.

Book 1
Book 2
Book 3
Book 4
Book 5
Book 6

Selection:
Everworld: Gateway to The Gods
By K.A. Applegate

Synopsis:

Everworld is a place that can’t possibly exist—an alternate universe where all the gods and legends and creatures of myth are still hurling lightning bolts, casting spells, and for all April O’Brien knows, drawing the sun across the sky by chariot.

So far she, Christopher, Jalil, and David have managed to evade the scheming god, Loki, get Sir Galahad killed, trade a high school chemistry book to an alien race called the Coo-hatch in exchange for a knife that will cut anything, escape Hel’s kingdom of the damned, and introduce electricity to Fairy Land.
Most recently, they managed to find Senna, the witch girl that brought them to Everworld, and make a narrow escape from the city of the god-devouring Ka Anor. Now all they want to do is rest. And since Dionysus has brought them safely in Olympus, they might be able to do just that. Plus there’s the wine god’s offer of immortality on the table…

Reeser’s Opinion:

Squee!

I was so excited when I bought the rest of these books. They’re so short and so obviously written for tweenagers, but they’re awesome. And…there’s Pegasuses! (Pegasai? Whatever the plural of Pegasus would be…) Not unicorns, I know, but they’re a near relative of one of my preferred mythical creatures.

I continue to approve of how Applegate introduces her characters (and the readers) to various myths…when Athena talks to the main characters about how gods cannot change and mortals can, it’s a short conversation, but it sums up a lot about how Greek and eventually Roman mythology played out.
Then there was a bit that made me think back to my college days…I’d said in the paper I wrote for my mythology class that Applegate was wrong in her portrayal of Dionysus because it didn’t match up with any of the myths I’d read about him…but in this book (which I hadn’t read at the time I took that class) he explains part of his myth to the teenagers and does show himself as the god you see in Euripides’ Bacchae. I guess my entire paper was wrong then, but…I had no way of knowing at the time.

So the myth parts were good. As a story, however, this installment was a bit slow…I understand that the teenagers are taking a minute to rest and strategize, but I was undeniably bored by all of that.
There is an interesting part of the book where April, who is the only religious one of the group, has a crisis of faith…she’s in danger and calls out for Athena to save her, and then wonders if it was chance that saved her, or if Athena had really intervened, and why she hadn’t called on God to save her instead. It was an interesting point, but instead of dwelling on it, April tries to push it out of her mind. I felt like Applegate could have made a lot more of it than she did, but the entire next book is spent on this sort of subject, except from the point-of-view of an atheist.

Can’t expect too much from a young adult fantasy book, I guess.

End

Reeser 

