That took less than a day. Toni texted me earlier and said that someone already told everyone about her living arrangement with one of the supervisors at that theatre…less than a day after we talked about how precarious it was, AND after she outright lied to some people about it…

*sigh*

I made some suggestions that she could try and persuade that supervisor to offer to come over to our building and we could swap the one of ours who really wants to go to the dine-in theatre…but ultimately there’s nothing I can do. :/

I When they rolled out the non-fraternization rule a few months ago, I thought that building would see a lot of problems with it…I’m astonished though, at how poorly people are doing at concealing these things they do when they know it’s against the rules…I mean…not even trying…

That and, of course, nobody there can keep anything to themselves. Probably best that I don’t try and go back, with all that happening…ugh…

Of course, I’m waiting to get into trouble, anyway, since one of our employees had a huge family ordeal a few months ago, and they’re strapped for money…so I’ve given her money for gas, and a book I was going to get rid of…I felt it would be better off given to her, since she likes to read anyway, and that book was tied in with her interest in Norse mythology…

Is that wrong? To help cheer up one of my employees?

Or…another one of our employees is trying to get into a dental program, and she has to turn in a page-length essay about her previous experience and training…she was almost in tears the other day because her English writing skills are not the best–she’s originally from India–but I offered to read over her essay for her because my degree is in English…

My posts don’t reflect it, but I am pretty sure my skills are adequate to offer suggestions for revision on a page length essay. And why wouldn’t I want to help someone if I have the skills they need? Because it’s not a work related thing? Ugh.

I get why the rule exists. I don’t question that as a necessity…I just…worry some about the potential for it to become a thing that ultimately makes me too afraid to help people whom I could have helped.

When that starts to be the case, how do you come away without feeling like scum?

