A book-type survey that I lifted from bluchickenninja.

Which book, most recently, did you not finish?
Texts and Contexts, a literary theory book from my college classes that I don’t actually remember deciding to keep, but I guess I did…? When I last picked it up from the shelf, I thought, “maybe I’ll get more out of it since I’m not reading it for class…”, but that didn’t happen. The introductory chapter was incredibly…patronizing, I guess. Speaking directly to “students” about their “student-level” reading comprehension. I couldn’t make it past that, and now the book is in a bag, waiting to go to the half-price store.

Which book is your guilty pleasure?
I can’t think of a single book on my shelves that I really feel would embarrass me if I admitted to reading it. I have excellent taste.

Which book do you love to hate?
Mmm. Twilight. My sisters were super into the series when it first started picking up, and they persuaded me to read one…I was truly disappointed that it wasn’t any good, and I was annoyed that they got me to read it. It’s not as fun to hate on anymore, but for a minute there…

Which book would you throw into the sea?
Gone Girl. I hated all the characters by the end. I was so mad and wanted all of them to suffer. All. Of. Them.

Which book have you read the most?
Ha. Probably Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I read it at least 4 times–my initial reading and then one for every time after that when the next installment was released–which puts it at one more reading than the next book that I am pretty sure of.

Which book would you hate to receive as a present?
The majority of them. If you don’t know my reading tastes and aren’t a reader yourself, then you have no business giving me a book.

Which book could you not live without?
That’s a dumb question. I could live without all of them. But I couldn’t live and be the same person without having read certain ones…but I guess that’s not the same thing.

Which book made you the angriest?
Gone Girl. 100%. I swear, I have not wanted to throw a book across the room in any memory prior to my reading of that one.

Which book made you cry the most?
Oh, you know…Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows…The Return of The King…All Quiet On The Western Front…a book in the Everworld series, Fear the Fantastic…
They don’t make me cry “the most”, maybe, but I cry every time I read any of those books, even though I know what’s going to happen.

Which book cover do you hate the most?
Ah…I think I’m deterred from reading a LOT of fantasy/sci-fi novels because of the bad cover artwork. Any book where the characters are depicted in some cartoonish, “hey-I am a wizard!” or “look at this hero with a sword!” or “woah-a half-dressed maiden!” makes me cringe. That was one thing I did like about the initial Twilight books…they had really aesthetically pleasing covers that revolved around high-contrast colour schemes and simple objects. Too bad the stories didn’t live up to the promise of those images.

Aaaaaand because I have successfully been awake for 24 hours now, and would hate to leave out this example of the universe trolling me–

The phone rings. Mike and I both look at it.
Me: Wait. Does that say…?
Mike *laughing*: Yes. Yep. Germany is calling. That means it’s probably for you.
Me: Obviously.
Mike: Der Führer wants to know why you haven’t reported for duty.
Me: You can’t report for duty if you never left!
Mike: That’s right. Because you fascists never sleep.
Me: I’m beginning to think it’s only me…

