Tags

, , , ,

Remember in The Two Towers movie, when Merry and Pippin see not just Treebeard, but all the ents moving together through the forest? That sort of creeped me out the first time I saw that scene. And ever since, when I am walking and there are trees, I sometimes ask myself if any of them look remotely frightening. Because trees aren’t scary…

But I went to the park not so long ago (not when I went with my sister), and took a path I hadn’t really bothered with before…you have to go quite a ways down, but there are a lot of oaks all growing together in one stretch of it. And for trees…they are kind of intimidating in a dark, ugly way.

Don’t misunderstand. I like oak trees. By themselves. In fields, perhaps. Or in a grassy area of a park (Jester likely doesn’t remember, but we went to a park once specifically because I wanted to look at a tree that I’d seen a hundred times when we drove past), but in groups they manage to look dark and dense and like if they aren’t hiding something that will get you, they’ll do it themselves.

Naturally, I’d like to go back and look at them again sometime.

Jester and I did go walk today, so that was nice. No new mosquito bites to go with the one on my jaw. Also nice.

He talked a lot about music. He talked lots and lots. And that’s alright. About movies he watched growing up. And music belonging to specific feelings or memories. And that’s so. It does.

It’s not quite the same, but I’ve been thinking about a different aspect of music. Of and on. And it’s not so much the pleasure of listening, but of singing.

Because one thing I most enjoy is knowing the sounds of a song and the particular inflections of the singer’s voice so well that, after trying and trying and trying, I finally reach a point where I can sing along and, now and then, get that eerie moment of harmonization. It’s incredibly difficult to create because a lot of artists I like have voices that don’t lend themselves to that sort of thing, but sometimes I can get it just right…it never ceases to fascinate me. I feel like trying to produce that effect has improved the sound of my own singing voice, which is nice because I am frequently annoyed by the sound of my speaking voice.

Ah well.
I’ve some emails to send.

K bombarded me with texts, and I must apologise for not telling her important things…that may take me some time to write…

Cheers.

