Tags

, , , , , , , ,

13 is Swords to Rust by Rome.

And that makes it tough because this song has been in my end-of-year playlists for the past 3 years. What can I say about it that I haven’t already said?

I think most of my previous posts about this song have been all about the impression the music gives me, rather than lyrics, so I suppose I can talk about those instead this time.

we shall let our songs drown
the rattle of the train
and the roaring of the crowd.
we shall wet our throat with sticky dark wine
and toast this blood wedding so fine.
to new horizons! to a new dawn!
to a new and reckless generosity!
for this our land of the free,
we shall win, die or betray and turn

swords to rust – hearts to dust
in vain to write our name
in blood and in flowers of flame.
swords to rust – hearts to dust
all blind and gone astray
our envy green as may.

all smothered in wild flowers,
we break the windows to breathe.
that golden dawn is ours,
for tonight hesitation is on leave
to wear god down,
to flatten him out,
to pray to no other.
to parley with death,
to bury the crown,
to silence all lovers
we shall turn

swords to rust – hearts to dust
in vain to write our name
in blood and in flowers of flame.
swords to rust – hearts to dust
all blind and gone astray
our envy green as may.

I suppose that when I really look at the words, the part I think is most interesting is where they are talking to God and to Death…between the two, Death is treated as the more important personage. Sure, prayers are only for God, but maybe they count for nothing…better speak directly to Death and come to an agreement, eh?

This would have been a good song to pick apart in one of my lit. classes…not just because of the way God and Death are treated, but Hesitation, also. I like how hesitation is “on leave”, but with the way that sentence is structured, this personification is the one doing all the conversing with God and Death. The song is very much about being filled with doubt, and you don’t really get that out of by just passively listening. The whole listening experience is engulfed by the sunrise and golden sounding violins…but I suppose maybe that’s the point. The golden dawn can only be yours if you stifle the doubts and do what you must…

But you know it doesn’t end that way, with the very last two lines being in vain to write our name / in blood and in flowers of flame.

graveyardsun

Previous #13 Songs
2015: The Accidents of Gesture by Rome
2014: I Only Think of You by The Horrors
2013: The Farthest Star by VNV Nation
2012: La Vie Est Courte Et Cruelle by The Zydepunks
2011: Silver Bullets by In Strict Confidence

