Tags

, , , , ,

11 is Steine sind Steine by And One.

This was another song that kept appearing in my Pandora playlists. Also one that I was very resistant to listening to…I think I skipped it and switched stations to avoid it for a long time. But I never actually gave it a thumbs-down because I wasn’t really sure that I disliked it…

And, given that it’s #11 this year, I guess I ultimately decided that it was an alright song after all.

So far it’s the only And One song that I like, but the only other one I can think of off the top of my head is Military Fashion Show…which Jester says is “basically the same song”. No. Nope. I disagree. And not just “because that one isn’t in German”, which is also a thing he said…ugh. -_-”
No. Not the same song at all. Plus, although I have no issue with the music of Military Fashion Show, I find it difficult to enjoy the content of that one.

Which is why this post is not about that song, after all.

This one preys again on my predisposition towards repetitive songs, but I also found it useful to listen to because of the different verb forms of “to be”. I am not always the quickest (contrary to all my stories about myself wherein I am clever and have it together…), so I don’t think it was until I was listening to this one and driving along that the bit about sind and sei occurred to me…and I’m not entirely clear on usage for sei (imperative?), but I was at least a little pleased with myself to have figured out A Thing despite being too lazy (and busy) to have tried learning in a more sensible way.

At any rate, I feel like to be is an important verb to figure out since every year of high school and college Spanish spent the first block of lessons either teaching or reviewing conjugations of ser, plus pronouns and adjectives…blah blah blah.

I am Reeser…
Yo soy Reeser…
Ich bin Reeser…

I’ll get there someday. (Like, when I’m old.)

As for the content of this song…it’s weird. Like, it sounds kind of angry, but I don’t feel like it is. I’m not too sure what to make of it, tbh. Like there is something about it that I don’t quite grasp…like…why is everything red? A mystery. One which I could speculate about, I’m sure, but I don’t think I’d be correct, so…nah.

I understand the beeps and boops of the music though. It’s that weird kind of musical texture where I almost think I can see the dots of all the electronic notes…so there’s that, too…

(The more of these I do, the more I say to myself, “man, you aren’t very good at describing why you like a thing. Such truth. Very vague. Much ramble.)

Previous #11 Songs
2015: Erika performed by the Wehrmacht Musikkorps
2014: Les Iles Noires by Rome
2013: Like Leaves by Colony 5
2012: Secrets by OneRepublic
2011: Come With Me by Descence

