Tags

, , , , ,

So…I think that in a day or two I can tell you something definitive about that hospital job…

For now though, I’ve got a book survey because that’ll at least give me something to do while I feel agitated like I need to post something.

Also…I spent $139 and some change to go to the urgent care today and get a prescription for my sinus infection. Not having health insurance sucks. And also, I finally had to buy Erika a new alternator. Sooo…another $350. Basically, I spent a ton of money today and I feel crappy and sad about it on top of being sick and nervous about this job thing.

Dislike.

Now, about that book survey…

1. Which book has been on your shelves the longest?
Probably Animalia. It’s an alphabet picture book, but the pictures are really beautiful and detailed, with the backgrounds being filled with extra pictures of things that amuse me even as an adult…examples: there is a Dalek in the picture for D. Also, a swastika on the S page.

…sometimes one wonders about kids’ books.

2. What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next?
Currently reading Playing with Fire by Tess Gerritsen. I’m almost a third of the way in, and while I wasn’t sold on the opening chapter, it got more interesting fairly quickly, so that’s good. I’m hoping the rest of the book holds up.

The last book I read was Swift to Chase by laird Barron, and while I really enjoy most of his writing, I wasn’t too keen on this particular book. I think maybe it was because all the stories followed a core group of characters, and tried to pull it all together, but never really did…and also, it wasn’t creepy. I prefer his creepy writing, for sure.

Next on my list is a translation of Wolfgang Koeppen’s Death in Rome, which I wouldn’t’ve come across without having found that parody band first. So…weird, I guess? Buuuut it’s a story about a group of characters living in post WWII Europe. Not sure what it’ll be like as a translation, but I read a lot of reviews and people seemed to have a generally good opinion of the book. We’ll see.

3. What book(s) did everyone like and you hated?
I’m desperately out of touch with popular things, including books. The closest thing I have to a good answer is Gone Girl. I read it once and decided I’d never read it again because I was so mad at all the characters. I’ve read very few books where I hated them all, but that was definitely one of them.

4. Which book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?
I don’t do that. If I buy it, I’m obligated to read it at some point. I don’t very often read books that I wasn’t interested in enough to buy…so everything on my  shelves will get read at some point, and I’m not worried about anything else.

5. Which book are you saving for “retirement”?
Ha! Like I’ll ever be able to retire…
That’s silly though. Why wait until I’m old to enjoy a book? I can always enjoy it again when I’m retired, right?

6. Last page: read it first or wait till the end?
Good god. What kind of monster reads the last page first????????

7. Acknowledgements: waste of ink and paper or interesting aside?
I like to read them. I like to see the names of those people and wonder who they are or what they did to help. Plus, sometimes acknowledgments have funny or touching little notes that make me grasp more fully that the writers are people just like all of us.

8. Which book character would you switch places with?
None of them, tbh. I mean…I like some pretty dark stuff. I don’t actually want to be a part of that plotline though.

9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life?
Lots. Here are a few of my most vivid memories:
Reading Marcel Beyer’s Spies in the Seattle-Tacoma airport while the sun rose.
Reading a translation of The Nibelungenlied in between tearing tickets when I was a film crew at my old theatre and trying to explain it to guests–HA!
Sitting outside in Michigan and reading Thomas Ligotti’s Teatro Grottesco while birds screamed in the woods.
Reading Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix in a sweltering hot tent at a music festival.
Reading The Fellowship of The Rings while my grandma talked to my parents. I wasn’t really reading it, but was mostly hoping she’d see me reading this big book and be impressed…I was, like, 8 or 9, I think.
Reading The Silmarillion on the way to Disney World when I was 14, and asking my aunt and uncle a million questions about it while we waited in various lines…I was pretty excited that they were also huge nerds.

10. Name a book you acquired in some interesting way.
Well, I ended up with Brian Lumley’s Necroscope and Vamphyri! because I won a Halloween writing contest. It was weird. And also, these books were my first introduction to fascist vampires.

11. Have you ever given away a book for a special reason to a special person?
Yessss…I gave Toni a copy of Thomas Ligotti’s The Shadow at the Bottom of The World, but I don’t think she ever read it. It was back when she was super into dark and bizarre stuff, and talked about dysentery a lot. And also before I allowed the bad thing happened to her.

12. Which book has been with you to the most places?
Golly. I don’t know. Probably Teatro Grottesco, because I think it came with me to Michigan and to Washington St.

13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?
I can’t really answer that. The only required reading book from high school that I ever bothered coming back to later was All Quiet on The Western Front, and that was more like…10 years later. I didn’t hate it in high school though. In fact…I only came back to it because I didn’t hate it.

14. What is the strangest item you’ve ever found in a book?
When I was in college, I borrowed a library book once where a girl named Krystyn had folded in a little slip of paper with her phone number, email address, and AIM name and hoped someone would get in touch. It was a book of Edgar Allen Poe stories that I checked out for a paper, so maybe we would’ve had something in common? Not sure. I might still have the paper someplace, but I never reached out to her…

15. Used or brand new?
I like a lot of out-of-print stuff, so sometimes one must go the used route…but I also like to have new books that are My Books.

16. Have you ever read a Dan Brown?
Nope.

17. Have you ever seen a movie you liked better than the book?
No, and I don’t expect to. All I expect is a good or a bad adaptation of the book…not a better one. If I do find one eventually, I’ll be truly surprised.

18. A book that NEVER should have been published.
YES! I thought long and hard about this question, and there is a single book that I think is completely worthless, it’s Modern Recording Techniques by David Miles Huber and Robert E. Runstein. OMGGGGGGGEEEE, the sixth edition of this book was what we used in my audio recording techniques class in college…and it did not give good results. The biggest problem with it is that it’s a print book that uses a lot of screen shots to illustrate how to use programs…but the 6th edition was published in 2005, and by 2008 was already severely outdated because technology is always upgrading and the book’s shelf life was much too short to keep up with what had been introduced in that time. Now, as far as analogue recording went, it was fine…and with acoustic setups and microphone characteristics, etc…it just was stupid out of date for the digital portion of the class. I’m ashamed that the book is still in circulation.

19. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks being excluded from this question?
Heh. The Redwall books. There is always SO MUCH food and it all sounds good… nom nom nom.

20. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?
Probably nobody, but in an interesting twist…my mom has never read 99.9% of the books she’s ever bought me…but even the ones she’s surprised me with have been good ones. Although I feel certain she wouldn’t’ve given them to me if she’d known how dark some of them were…

