Tags

, , ,

*sigh*
I think Jester is cross with me…but I can’t help that I’m not tired and want to stay up doing laundry and eating soup and posting nonsense. 😦

This is a tradition which goes back to the origins of my blog–I’ve always done this. And, of course, habits are hard to break.

So, that’s one thing going on…
Now for nonsense, eh?

Book nonsense. Because that’s a good time.

It’s a survey sort of thing, since I haven’t done any of those in AGES. I stole it from bluchickenninja and you should visit her if you like sci-fi. She posts lots of reviews and other things about books and fandoms and graphic arts.

So, onto the questions! 😀

What book are you currently reading?

If by “currently reading” you mean “intending to start soon”, this is it. And I’ve read it before and really enjoyed it, but I think there was something I missed…some key detail which eluded me on that first read, but which I hope to not miss the second time around.
Part of me wonders if it’s because it’s a translation, but I’m not sure. It could also be that I read 75% of the book whilst sitting in the Seattle-Tacoma airport for 6 hours, waiting for my plane…

What’s the last book you finished?

I liked most of this book, but the end kind of…disappointed me. It could have ended sooner.

Favourite book you read this year?

Dragonhaven

These ones are at least fairly new to me, even if I’ve read The Road Back last year, too. I thought all of these were really absorbing…like, most of the narration flows really well and just kind of carries you along and before you know it, you’re at the end of the book. Now, each of these also had a thing that happens at the end which I felt was unnecessary…but that’s really the worst I can say of any of them.

What genre have you read most this year?


Mm. Looks like a toss-up between historical fiction and fantasy books with dragons.

What genre have you read least this year?

Nonfiction. I’ve read zero nonfiction. Not even noteworthy essays. On the other hand, I’ve read a children’s book and three poetry books.

What genre do you want to read more of?

Weird tales. They’re some of my favourites. I can’t imagine that will stop being true any time soon…I just have to be patient and wait for them to finally publish collections of the writing from the good authors who are out of print.

What’s the last book you bought?


They’re waiting for when I finally get through all my WWII related books…and I have five of those left to go.

What book are you saving up to buy next?

Yep. A 1930s horse story. Try not to judge me too harshly. I love My Friend Flicka and Thunderhead…and I only recently learned that there was a third one in the series. So there.

What’s a book you can’t wait to read?

I saw this a few days ago and knew I would read it. Just…destiny, you know? Now all I’ve got to do is wait for October 25th.

What’s a series you would recommend to everyone?

Everyone? Well, A Song of Ice and Fire and the Vampire Chronicles have too much violence and sex…not for kids. Redwall is too childish for most adults…Everworld too “teen”…the only series I can think of which has a little something for everyone is Harry Potter. And I know that sounds trite, but it’s so very true, and I appreciate that about those books.

Time to grab my laundry and finally go to bed.
Cheers!